Yes, that’s right.  I am hacking the registry on a Microsoft operating system for the first time in my life.  And by hacking, I’m not talking about actual hacking or anything that would qualify me to work for the CIA or the NSA.  I’m talking about using a registry editor to delete certain registry entries to fix problems.

And I’m not saying that Windows Phone 7 has problems that prevent it from being a useable operating system.  Trust me, it’s more than useable; actually, it is quite nice and I am in the process of writing a blog entry for another website about my experiences with Windows Phone 7 and the Samsung Focus.  The general outcome of this blog entry will be very favorable for Windows Phone 7 and quite favorable for the Samsung Focus.  But that’s another time and another website, so stay tuned to www.t3kd.com for the news.

There have been numerous forum posts about the Live Tiles that Windows Phone 7 uses.  If you are used to using a jailbroken iPhone, Live Tiles is something that you would be familiar with.  On a jailbroken iPhone, there was an app called Katra Weather that would enable a dynamic display of the weather, both using a graphic and a numerical display for the temperature.  Many of the Live Tile enabled weather applications on Windows Phone 7 perform in this way, but you do not have to “jailbreak” your phone to make it happen.  This is the Live Tile experience.

This leads me to my hacking entry.  Many people have been experiencing problems with Live Tiles and how and when and the frequency with which they update, if it ever happens at all.  On my phone, I estimate that about half of the third party Live Tile enabled applications would work.  AlphaJax, a near perfect comparison to Words With Friends, would not ever connect to the push notification system and therefore the game counter on the application icon would not ever show the number of unplayed games.  After reading some posts over the xda website, I was routed to an entry at the WMpoweruser website.  This article explained in detail how to go about repairing the Live Tile system on your phone.  The process was fairly simple and straightforward.  You just need a developer unlocked phone and a registry editor.

After following the directions and performing a soft reboot, the problems and woes of the Windows Phone 7 Live Tile system seems to be in my rear view mirror, hopefully to never return.  All the applications are working now, and unexectedly the application called TextMe! now works perfectly.

